Can't afford to shop there.
February 05, 2017 05:36AM
I remember fifty years ago, I was in the Army assigned to Fort Wolters (Mineral Wells) Texas. We were living off post in Weatherford, Texas. Trying to survive with a wife and baby on an enlisted person's salary was an enormous challenge, so most food and household needs were purchased at the Fort Wolters Commissary. There was a Piggly Wiggly in Weatherford and my wife would proclaim every month, we can't afford to shop there. Here is an ad from the newspaper for this date in 1967. Note the cost of sirloin steak-----------------

I am not completely useless, I can always be used as a bad example.
Re: Can't afford to shop there.
February 05, 2017 07:18AM
I graduated from UT Arlington that year, got married, and went to work teaching science. My contracted salary was $5400 for 9 months. I picked up another $15 a week operating the scoreboard at Bishop Dunne H.S. football games and serving as a golf "coach" at South Oak Cliff H.S. Basically, my duties for the latter were to make sure that the schedule operated and the kids got to the matches. My wife worked at T.I. as a secretary, $3000 salary. Saturday's I sold women's shoes at the Highland Park Sanger-Harris, on commission. I usually made around $35 each Saturday that I worked. So, our monthly income, pretax, was about $750 max. We both attended UT Arlington at night, with commuting costs from our apartment in Highland Park ($75/month). Tuition at UT Arlington for part time students was $3/semester hour. We could have reduced the commuting costs by attending SMU, but tuition was $20/semester hour there. The next year, Bonnie attended Arlington full time and worked part time at the library there for minimum wage, $1.25/hour, 10 hours a week. Her tuition was $50/semester. We moved to Arlington, but then my commuting costs for work offset not commuting to Arlington. We also got an apartment in Arlington for $60/month. My teaching salary went up to $5600.