Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

thomas jefferson high school

Posted by rojinks 
Re: thomas jefferson high school
August 01, 2016 08:16AM
Class of '62. I started there in the 8th grade in '58. 8-12 were held at TJ while Cary was being built. We moved to Cary in Jan, '59.
August 03, 2016 10:01AM
I had two roommates at UNT in the 60's who graduated from TJ(61-62?) Max Gilley and Mike Curtis. Jim
August 03, 2016 12:55PM
I graduated from WTW in '67. Started at Walnut Hill in '55, transfered to Withers then Marsh. The playground at Walnut HIll was a 21st century parent's nightmare. I think the jungle gym was the newest piece of equipment there and a week didn't pass but that a daredevil boy or two fell off the top and knocked out his breath. Some of my favorite teachers were there: Miss Clarke, Miss Mary Herring, and Mrs. LaHommedieu who taught us diagramming like it was just another word game.
I was in concert choir at WTW. Our director was Annalee Huffaker from TJ. That was one of the advantages of having a school named after a sitting superintendant. I feel very fortunate to have been in her choir and musicals (Kismet and The Music Man). She taught much more than music. She taught life well lived.
August 09, 2016 09:38PM
rs Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I didn't attend school at TJ, but had friends who
> were Rebels. Does anyone remember the designated
> smoking area outside, back in '73 and '74? Yes,
> Virginia, once-apon-a time a student could take a
> Marlboro break in high school.